My Path Through Research

The Trials and Triumphs of Doing a PhD

Research Day Away

Last Wednesday was Research Day Away for our department. What does that mean? It means that a ‘day out’ for the people in the department was organised…woohoo!

What was the plan? The plan was to meet at Tate Britain, where we got a tour of the Science Laboratories. We got the opportunity to hear the scientists there describing and discussing their work. I liked the way it was done, probably as, since we were all in the heritage field, they could go a bit beyond what would probably normally be explained to a general audience.

From there we then made our way to the Print Rooms. Jacob had been telling me about the Print Rooms since I first met him. But still – WOW – I was impressed. I was even more impressed by Julia, the registrar there…She knew everything about the prints/drawings she was showing us, and could discuss them in such a good manner. I was really impressed. Jacob also confirmed that picking any picture at random from the collection, she can discuss it to her hearts content.

From there it was then off to catch the Tate-to-Tate boat to get to Tate Modern. Last Wednesday was a perfect day, very sunny, with a very pleasant breeze on the river. Ahhh! Good weather 🙂 So pleased with that *GRIN*.

First up at Tate Modern was lunch…Woohooo! I don’t go out to eat very often (out of my price range I guess)…and what I realised at that point is that…well…making the food myself would have cost so much less :P. At least it was good :). After a relaxing dinner the plan was to go around the exhibitions and enjoy them. Luckily, I teamed up with Jacob (who’s is a staff member, hence free entrance ;)), so rather than the normal slow pace you tend to take when seeing exhibits in a museum (wanting to get the most out of what you pay), we could take a bit of a faster pace, stopping in front of what interests us, and just getting the feel for the materials in each room.

Soon it was however time for me to be off, as a friend of my had arrived in London that day and I was going to be off to meet her. Good day though…can’t wait for the next one (so I can take the day off without feeling guilty about it :P).

Filed under: Events and Activities, , , , , , , , , ,

One Response

  1. […] sort of tradition that the last meeting in June is what we call a ‘research day away’. Last year we visited the two London Tates. This year we travelled a bit out of central London […]

Leave a Reply

Twitter Tweets

July 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
