My Path Through Research

The Trials and Triumphs of Doing a PhD

Science in the News

I am sure most of you following the news have heard of the Large Hadron Collider, or LHC. You have probably heard of its breakdowns, problems and downtime.

However…drum roll please!…it is finally up and running…and the first high-energy collisions has occurred. I couldn’t let the event go by without mentioning such an achievement. I also wanted to point you towards the article in the Guardian by John Ellis, one of the senior physicists at CERN. As he says, “I want the LHC to be remembered for something that we have never previously talked about.”

That is also what I want for all of science…not just finding what we expect, but finding that which we don’t as well. I am sure this statement will come to haunt me some time (as it has already done at countless times), but then why do research if you only find what you expect?

I will leave you with this video from Tom Whyntie who won the NESTA FameLab Competition, talking about the work of the LHC, where he works

Filed under: General, , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Twitter Tweets

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
